Confessions of a Spore whore

Omnivore. Carnivore. Herbivore. Sporewhore.

Chances are I would sell my body to get my hands on this game. That’s how bad I want to try it. Anyway, after gushing about Civ Rev (which also shares the curved world phenomenon, if you compare the screens), I thought I’d mention some other titles that are on my list for 2008, and Spore is certainly one of them. This game, if you somehow managed to avoid reading about it, lets you create a species and guide it from the origin of life through various stages of civilization and technology, all the way into the far reaches of outer space. To be more precise, your creation will start off in the Tidal Pool Phase as a tiny single celled organism and then progress as you continue to evolve, eventually crawling onto land. The last segment of the game is called the Space Phase, where you traverse the galaxy in flying saucers, visiting (attacking) other civilizations, exploring the solar system, perhaps with the intent to colonize and terraform, all in the name of galactic dominance.

Spore is due out this September. If you haven’t already, I urge you to take a look at the Eno/Wright seminar for more insight to the mechanics of the game, such as evolution and generative music. It’s also coming to the DS, but it will be watered down and sucky. Oh, and all my pictures have floating captions, in case you’ve missed it.

6 Responses to Confessions of a Spore whore

  1. dnkn says:

    It looks hellishly good, no doubt, but the PS3 is way too damn expensive. Although this is yet another reason to start saving up to the oul’ Playstation I guess.

    2008 is going to be expensive.

  2. David says:

    It’s also coming to the 360, maaan. So, no need to convert into a Sony fanboy just yet.

  3. amateuse says:

    you’re rich dnkn. stop whining.

  4. dnkn says:

    I’m not nearly rich enough. However, when FF13 is released I’m buying a PS3. No question about it.

  5. David says:

    Well, you could always sell your body and buy yourself a PS3. Whore.

  6. dnkn says:

    True that. Or even better; I could sell my flatmate’s souls. It’s both heretic and economical.

Leave a Reply

